RSS Feed

Grainline Scout Tee Hack

Posted on

Have you seen Angela Duckworth’s TED talk on grit? I showed it to my students last week as a way to continue an ongoing discussion about student success and growth mindset. We all took the grit questionnaire. When I encountered the question asking if I followed through on what I started, I cringed, thinking of the dozens of unfinished sewing projects taking up space in my dining room, china cabinet, and linen closet. Did this mean I wasn’t gritty?

So I made a rule: No more starting new projects until I finish or banish the old ones. That’s what finally got me to complete the Grainline Scout tee, made with this delicious, silk-like cotton Bromley voile. Thanks to Gail for inspiring me to buy this fabric with her Cambie dress. I cannot say enough about the texture of this fabric. It’s soft and delicate, presses well, and is opaque enough for shirts and unlined summer dresses. Sadly, it’s sold out at Fabric.com. Hey, Westminster Fabrics, make some more, in solid colors, will ya?

I originally made this shirt with long sleeves using Jen’s tutorial, but once I put it on, the pattern just seemed too loud for so much fabric, so I hacked off the sleeves and improvised a sleeve band. I made a 1/4” forward shoulder adjustment using the Threads magazine method (probably wasn’t necessary) and lowered the armscye 1/2” as I always do.

13635232154_561476a562_z

(Notice Cyrus photobombing at bottom left.)

This shirt was an experiment in using a lining instead of a facing or bias tape. I never like how facings pop out or show through, and I don’t always like the look or the fiddliness of bias tape. So I used bemberg lining here to line the bodice of this shirt. I’m not sure I like how cold it feels on the body in so loose a shirt, but I *love* the clean finish it gives the neckline. It’s the cleanest, flattest, most gorgeous neckline I’ve ever done.

The inside …

.Image

Finally, I’m debating whether or not to put accent buttons on the sleeve bands. My wonderful sewing friend Joan gave me two exquisite Czechoslovakian buttons. They match the Bromley fabric well, but part of me wants to hold onto them for a more dramatic garment. Take a look:

Image

Aren’t they gorgeous? ‘Til next time, be gritty :).

 

 

Leave a Reply

